top of page
  • Writer's pictureD'Vonte

A Journeyman


"Twenty or 30 years from now I am going to be on the beach to Jamaica"



I was nothing but a boy until the age of twenty.

It was either become a lawyer or,

Sell coke and drugs until I was shot dead on the streets at 30.

I'm not spectacular or interesting like how I've been perceived for years.

I'm just able to swell fantasies with helium from

everest; developing the coloured man of the present and now.

What you see on screen is never what I'd classify as I.

Instead I clarify myself as a character who sees an individual in the word of am.

Magnificent! Is how some view my achievements as it is going,

away from me in favour of moving through and to.

When realistically I am only me, simply attempting to be;

enjoying success discovering the secret in having it permanently switched on.

An away breeds me for The!

The Idris Elba lies on the shore, for I become the coral on the beach.

It is only a name and I'd like to direct your attention to;

who I was before and not how I am after. My origin forever lies in Jamaica...

27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Language

I'm learning to speak the language l, Not through mere translation, But through emotions that aren't tied to a language, It will build...

Comments


bottom of page